

E-WARRANT PROCESS

Step 1 – Preparing the E-ITO/Warrant

Option 1 - s. 487.1(1) - Sworn/Oath

Officer prepares E-ITO/Warrant and swears ITO before a Commissioner of Oaths. **Base Court and police file number to be noted on all documents**.

OR

Option 2 - s. 487.1(3.1) – Declaration in lieu of Oath

Officer prepares E-ITO/Warrant and makes a statement in writing that all matters contained in the ITO are true to their knowledge and belief, and such a statement is deemed to be a statement made under oath. Base Court and police file number to be noted on all documents.

<u>Step 2a – Requesting Service through the Justice of the Peace Centre</u>

Officer will send a <u>password-protected</u> PDF document (all documents to be scanned into one file) to: <u>JPCentreWarrants@courts.ns.ca</u> The password is to be sent separately in a second e-mail message. Please note the Court will not accept documents if they are not password protected.

Step 2b - Requesting Service through the Base Court - DNA and General Warrants

Officer will send a <u>password-protected</u> PDF document (all documents to be scanned into one file) to the Base Court Supervisor for Judicial Support via their Courts Outlook e-mail address (see below). The password is to be sent separately in a second e-mail message. Please note the Court will not accept documents if they are not password protected.

Officers do not need to call the Justice of the Peace Centre or the Base Court before submitting Warrant applications electronically. Each e-mail should only contain one Warrant submission. Officers must complete and submit the Request for Warrant Services form, or provide all the requested information in the body of the e-mail.

Following the Warrant Priority Protocol, the subject line of the e-mail must state:

Re: Warrant Submission – Level 1 Priority

Re: Warrant Submission – Level 1 Priority - Password

Officers are to call the JP Centre at (902) 424-8888 (or the Base Court) if the factors affecting the priority of their Warrant application changes.

The body of the e-mail must contain a signature block for the officer which includes a <u>direct</u> telephone number, not the telephone number of the detachment, and any details to consider in support of a request for priority status of the Warrant.

Step 3 – Acknowledgement of Documents

Officer will respond to e-mail to acknowledge receipt of the Warrant. Officer will note the Court File Number on any Report to Judge and/or Order for Detention to be filed, or further Warrant submissions if the Warrant if denied.

Supervisor E-mail Addresses:

Amherst (Kathy Farrell) – <u>kathy.farrell@courts.ns.ca</u>

Antigonish (Michelle Keats) - michelle.keats@courts.ns.ca

Bridgewater (Suzanne Miles) - <u>suzanne.miles@courts.ns.ca</u>

Dartmouth (Lillian Fraser) – lillian.fraser@courts.ns.ca

Digby/Annapolis Royal (Nick Murphy) - nicholas.murphy@courts.ns.ca

Halifax (Cassie Maguire) – cassandra.maguire@courts.ns.ca

Kentville (Wendy Kinsman) – wendy.kinsman@courts.ns.ca

Pictou (Kathy Holman) – <u>kathy.holman@courts.ns.ca</u>

Port Hawkesbury/Wagmatcook (Carrie Hanley) – carrie.hanley@courts.ns.ca

Sydney/Eskasoni (Kristen MacIntosh) – kristen.macintosh@courts.ns.ca

Truro/Shubenacadie (Jenalee Patterson) – <u>jenalee.patterson@courts.ns.ca</u>

Yarmouth/Barrington (Louise Hamilton Delaney) - louise.hamilton-delaney@courts.ns.ca

If Officer requires assistance, contact:

Anja Clyke, Chief Judge's Office, (902) 424-8750, anja.clyke@courts.ns.ca